My Sweet Katie

Today is a pretty big day.  Katie has her first a1c test since her Type 1 Diabetes diagnosis in April.  What’s an a1c?  who knows.  I don’t even know off the top of my head what it stands for.  But basically it tells us how we have been managing Katie’s blood sugar.  It’s just a number, but it will give a picture to how our management has been.

If you want to read more about what the A1C is, here is a link to the American Diabetes Association explanation.

So Katie’s first A1C was 12.  A good number for us would be 8 but 5-7 would be awesome.  I wonder how long it takes to get the results.

Katie is so amazing!  She helped me out with a photo shoot I did for Sweet Petunia Clothing last week.  Image

Whatever her A1C, I’m so proud of all of us.  We have worked really hard every day and I hope today will be a little victory in this journey.

Question for my diabetes friends, do you remember your first A1C test?  Any advice?  🙂

4 thoughts on “My Sweet Katie

Leave a Reply

