20 minutes of blogging

So things have been pretty crazy and busy around here.  Really, who am I kidding, I’m always pretty crazy and busy.  Blogging is tricky for me because I feel like I don’t want to leave anything out, so then I never start… perfectionism I guess.  So I set my timer and I’m going to just share some thoughts for 20 minutes.

Brendan’s Surgery.  Or should I say procedure!  I’ve been calling it a procedure cause I think that’s less scary. Two weeks ago I was giving Bman a bath and I noticed this huge bump on the back of his ear.  Jason was totally freaked out- I was freaked out too- but I figured if it wasn’t hurting him, then I wouldn’t be too concerned.  Jason took him to the doctor the next day because I was taking a 2 day workshop with the awesome folks at Switzerfilm.  Jason called during the seminar to let me know Brendan had a “dermoid cyst” nothing too scary, but needed to be removed by surgery.  This was getting scary!  

We had the surgery scheduled for Monday at Frontenac Surgery Center.  It was a pretty good experience overall.  Image

hanging out in the lobby before the surgery

Imageplaying with Mr. Potato Head stickers while we waited.  Blanket made by aunt Lizzy.  Tiger from Aunt Susie.

He had to be completely put under for the surgery.  IV, Breathing Tube, the whole deal…  Jason and I had a little melt down after they took him away because his weight was a little down.  I’m constantly looking for signs that Brendan might have diabetes like his sister and weight loss is a huge red flag.  I tearfully asked the lady at the front desk if they could test Brendan’s blood sugar.  I’m pretty sure she thought I was crazy.  I was trying to calm down when I spotted this sign:

ImageThe TRIFORCE!!  I’m a pretty big Zelda fan… the triforce made me smile and helped calm my nerves.  I would need it because soon the Doctor came out to tell us how everything was going.  At the same moment Jason’s phone rang and he answered it.  He is not a complete idiot, so I knew there was something serious happening on the phone.  I stopped the doctor talking to find out what: Katie forgot her insulin bag in Jason’s car.  Luckily we live super close to school.  Jason walked our school nurse through how to find her bag so that Katie would be able to eat lunch at school. Surgery went great. Time to wait for Brendan to wake up.

I thought I would be all better at dealing with hospital stuff.  I kinda conquered that fear while Katie was in the hospital. But no, I totally almost passed out when they brought Brendan in.  Blood pounded in my ears and I had to hold onto the rail to steady myself.  I really wanted to be standing there when Brendan woke up, so I forced myself to be calm and look cool.  I don’t think I convinced Jason… 🙂

Brendan took his time waking up.  When it finally happened, he was ANGRY!!!  Like Hulk angry.  He did not want the IV in his hand and started thrusting his fists into the air.  That’s when my son punched me right in the face.  Classic.  Jason got the giggles, because Brendan was so furious and was trashing around and growling.  I sat down so I wouldn’t loose it anymore.  He was in some pain, so they gave him some heavy pain meds and then he was fine.  He had two popsicles and was ready to go.

Image

 

He really wanted Little Caesars for lunch so we stopped for a Hot and Ready Pepperoni Pizza with Crazy Bread and Crazy Sauce.  I was in the back of the car with Brendan, we were going to wait while Jason got the Pizza.  In his medicated state, Brendan though he really need to go in there with dad, lest he forget to grab a balloon with the bag of cookies.  So in a swift movement, Brendan unbuckled his seat belt, tried to undo his wrap and opened his car door.  I hung up the phone on my mom and ran to the other side of the car to catch him as he fell out the back.  He didn’t loose any momentum, he wobbled to the door and then ran inside and with both hands grabbed an orange balloon.  He sat down on the chair with the biggest smile on his face and I just had to laugh.  

ImageHe is going great.  I’m still catching up.  

That’s my 20 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “20 minutes of blogging

  1. You have been in my prayers! God is amazing! Remember, you always have the “triune” force behind you! You’ve been through a lot and your testimony gives witness to a faithful God! Have a super day!

Leave a Reply

